ARC Review: All the Tides of Fate by Adalyn Grace

Thank you so much to the publisher for kindly sending me a digital galley of this title!

The thrilling sequel to instant New York Times bestseller All the Stars and Teeth, called “captivating” by Tomi Adeyemi, “Vicious and alluring” by Hafsah Faizal, and “phenomenal” by Adrienne Young. Now author Adalyn Grace is back with more high seas adventure in All the Tides of Fate, this electrifying fantasy, perfect for fans of Stephanie Garber’s Caraval and Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series.

Through blood and sacrifice, Amora Montara has conquered a rebellion and taken her rightful place as queen of Visidia. Now, with the islands in turmoil and the people questioning her authority, Amora cannot allow anyone to see her weaknesses.

No one can know about the curse in her bloodline. No one can know that she’s lost her magic. No one can know the truth about the boy who holds the missing half of her soul.

To save herself and Visidia, Amora embarks on a desperate quest for a mythical artifact that could fix everything―but it comes at a terrible cost. As she tries to balance her loyalty to her people, her crew, and the desires of her heart, Amora will soon discover that the power to rule might destroy her.

*SPOILERS FOR ALL THE STARS AND TEETH AHEAD*

I honestly have no idea how to start this review. All the Tides of Fate was such a phenomenal book, and I am still REELING from that ending! Adalyn Grace, WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO ME?!? #WorstBookHangoverEver

In all seriousness, though, this book truly was spectacular, and there are no words in the English language that can properly express how much I loved it. It’s one of those books that falls under the “Had Me Bawling Into My Pillow At 3 AM” Category. There, THAT should give you an idea of how much I loved it. 😂

I was rather apprehensive when going into All the Tides of Fate, as its predecessor, All the Stars and Teeth (AKA, one of my favorite reads of 2020), left me with SKY HIGH expectations. I was worried that, like so many other sequels out there, All the Tides of Fate would be a victim of the dreaded Book 2 Curse. But guess what? It totally wasn’t!

All the Tides of Fate was just as good as All the Stars and Teeth. In fact, there are some aspects of the book that made me like it even MORE than All the Stars and Teeth. For example, the development of the various characters in the story.

Let’s start with our protagonist, Amora. The poor girl had to go through A LOT in this book. After witnessing the brutal death of her father in All the Stars and Teeth, Amora’s heart is heavy with grief, guilt, and regret. She finds herself getting easily panicked and overwhelmed, and for a majority of the novel, she is very emotionally closed off. I really appreciate that Adalyn Grace did NOT gloss over Amora’s trauma and grief like many other YA authors do when a character faces a major loss. Instead, she made Amora’s pain a big part of the story and portrayed the reality of grief with such rawness and honesty that I can’t help but applaud. In most of the YA novels I’ve read, when someone the protagonist loves is killed off, they spend a very brief amount of time mourning them, and then they continue on with their adventures as if nothing has changed. This is NOT realistic. That’s why I love that Adalyn Grace didn’t shy away from making Amora’s grief a primary focus of the book. Grief is NOT short-term, and it’s important to portray it realistically in literature. Because of her PTSD and grief, Amora went through a tremendous amount of growth in this novel, and I’m so proud of her. She’s a character I’ve loved getting to know these past two books, and her depth and complexity make her a very memorable one as well.

And of course, I can’t forget about the wonderful supporting characters in this story! Ferrick, Vataea, and Bastian occupy an extremely special place in my heart. They’re all very different, and that’s why I love them so much. In the past, I’ve seen authors dedicate all of their energy to developing their protagonists, resulting in very bland casts of supporting characters. Adalyn Grace is different. Her secondary characters are JUST as phenomenally developed as her protagonist, even though we’re not reading from their perspectives. Ferrick, Vataea, and Bastian each have so many layers to them, and it’s been a pleasure getting to peel them all back as I’ve gotten to know them better and better. But I must admit… I have a feeling that some of these characters’ adventures aren’t quite over yet (*cough cough* VATAEA), so I’m hoping, praying, and BEGGING for more stories set in Visidia in the future! (Adalyn Grace, if you’re seeing this… Can we PLEASE get a Vataea novel? PRETTY PLEASE?)

Moving on, I also really loved how the character relationships in this duology were developed. We got to see a lot more of Amora and Bastian in All the Tides of Fate, and I like how Adalyn Grace really took their relationship to a deeper and more emotional level. They’re definitely one of my new favorite fictional couples, as I’ve become so attached to both of them!

Now, before I wrap this review up, can I please take a moment to express how glad I am that this series was written as a duology and not stretched out into a trilogy? Even though it absolutely tore my heart apart, the ending of All the Tides of Fate was absolutely PERFECT, and the story as a whole came to a very neat conclusion. So many series these days are unnecessarily long, which is why I’m happy that the author and publisher recognized that only two books were needed to tell this fantastic story. #DuologiesForTheWin

Overall, All the Tides of Fate was a magnificent (and heartbreaking) ending to a series that I love so much. The characters in this story are some of my favorites of all time, and I already miss them endlessly!

If you like swashbuckling, high-seas adventures full of magic, beauty, and self discovery, you MUST read this series! It’s beyond amazing!

FIVE-STARS • Stay Green Turf

5 thoughts on “ARC Review: All the Tides of Fate by Adalyn Grace

  1. melbraxton says:

    Just finished ATSAT this weekend and will be getting this soon! To be honest I wasn’t sure about the pacing for book one ::gulp:: but now that I know where it ended–I’m excited to see where the adventure goes next! Amora has so much to process and I’m thankful the author doesn’t try to diminish her grief. And Vataea?! Yes. Please.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alexandra says:

    AHHHHHHHHH, A VATAEA NOVEL WOULD BE AMAZING AND HOW CAN WE MAKE THIS HAPPEN???

    This review is so AMAZING – you’ve made me want to run out to my local bookstore and get myself a copy PRONTO [probably in my skimpy summer PJ’s because it’s after 9pm here and my house is an actual oven so I’m sitting in bed drinking wine because what else would you do?]. Buuuuuuuut… I’m honestly scared of this immanent book hangover you’re promising… Please, PLEASE for the love of books tell me that nobody dies!!! PLEASE?

    Also, always here for any book that makes me sob into my pillow at 3am. 😂😂😂

    Can’t wait to finally dive [ba dum tss] into this book – even if I’m not ready for it all to be over!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Octavia @ Mermaid Reads says:

      I propose we create our own petition demanding a Vataea novel! I’m sure many other readers would be more than happy to sign it!

      And thank you SO MUCH! Dashing to the closest bookstore in your skimpy pajamas to buy this book sounds like a fantastic idea. It’s so amazing! You are NOT prepared!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s